Marriage Equality Is the Law in a Majority of States


From The New Yorker:

  • Per the Supreme Court, marriage equality is now the law in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
  • Marriage-equality had won in each case, but the decisions were stayed while proponents of the ban appealed.
  • The Supreme Court’s action means this decision is final.
  • Colorado, Kansas, North Carolina, South Carolina, West Virginia, and Wyoming are all in the same federal appeals circuits, guided by the same jurisprudence.

Thus, the Supreme Court has increased the number of states permitting marriage equality from nineteen to twenty-four—and likely thirty.

But wait—according to the LA Times today, the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals in San Francisco is expected to rule shortly, adding Idaho, Alaska, Arizona, Montana and Nevada to 21st century.